Add metrics to object detection example

Hello everybody,

im new with huggingface and wanted to try out the object detection. So i ran the transformers object detection example from the huggingface docs (this one here: Object detection) and wanted to add some metrics while training the model. Everytime i get the following error:

TypeError: Can’t pad the values of type <class ‘transformers.image_processing_utils.BatchFeature’>, only of nested list/tuple/dicts of tensors.

I create a eval_dataset like this:

cppe5["test"] = cppe5["test"].with_transform(transform_aug_ann)

and add it to the trainer:

metric = evaluate.load("accuracy")

def compute_metrics(eval_pred):
    print("here")
    logits, labels = eval_pred
    predictions = np.argmax(logits, axis=-1)
    return metric.compute(predictions=predictions, references=labels)

trainer = Trainer(
    model=model,
    args=training_args,
    data_collator=collate_fn,
    train_dataset=splitted_ds_encoded["train"],
    eval_dataset=splitted_ds_encoded['test'],
    tokenizer=image_processor,
    compute_metrics=compute_metrics,
)

Maybe someone here can help me?

Thanks in advance. Greetings Christoph

cc @MariaK

Hi Christoph! Thanks for the question, and sorry about the delay. In the guide, we didn’t use the evaluation in the Trainer, because accuracy usually isn’t used for object detection. Here, we evaluated separately on standard COCO metrics. If you want to measure accuracy during training, you’ll need to check how the labels are batched in collate_fn(batch), (e.g. use batch[“labels”] = [dict(label) for label in labels] instead). You may also need to modify your compute_metrics function.
If this doesn’t work, @ybelkada may be able to help with the evaluation.

Hey! Sorry for reviving this, and I may be kicking a dead horse here.