German ASR: Fine-Tuning Wav2Vec2

Hey everybody,

I’m planning on fine-tuning XLSR-Wav2Vec2 in German. I’m happy about any tips / collaborations with the community :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Patrick!

I will work on the german dataset, too, and would very much appreciate discussions and collaborations, because - to be honest - I have never done it before.

1 Like

Hi Patrick,

German dataset is very resource intensive, one step before actual fine-tuning/training the complete dataset folder has a size of 830GB. However, 64GB RAM seems to be sufficient for the whole pre-processing stuff.

1 Like

That’s a very good point @stefan-it ! We might have to lazy load the dataset into memory then for each batch

I’ll try to adapt the colab slighly to show how such a use case could work!

@patrickvonplaten would be awesome. I just found out that the

import librosa
import numpy as np

def resample(batch):
    batch["speech"] = librosa.resample(np.asarray(batch["speech"]), 48_000, 16_000)
    batch["sampling_rate"] = 16_000
    return batch

common_voice_train = common_voice_train.map(resample, num_proc=1)

was not really working. It takes very (!) long even after 8 - 10 hours it hasn’t finished (and I’m using a very fast CPU).

I could test a fix - and fortunately I’ve found a 8TB HDD under the desk :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Yes, the resampling takes a lot of time! I think torchaudio.resample(...) works faster actually. You might want to use this script by @valhalla instead: transformers/run_common_voice.py at dcebe254fadfe142b6f0d6301cc8a875dca7d603 · huggingface/transformers · GitHub

Luckily we only need to do this step once. Afterward, we can save the dataset with: Main classes — datasets 1.5.0 documentation