Please Help! How to properly label RTL ground truth data for fine-tuning/training ViT models

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner working to fine-tune/train my first TrOCR model.

It is not clear to me how to properly label ground truth training data for RTL languages?

Supposing I have the following image in Hebrew:

shalom

Should my ground truth LABEL be:

שלום

or

םולש

?

In @nielsr Seq2Seq e.g. at https://github.com/NielsRogge/Transformers-Tutorials/blob/master/TrOCR/Fine_tune_TrOCR_on_IAM_Handwriting_Database_using_Seq2SeqTrainer.ipynb, this would be the series labels under the "text’ column pandas df in out[3]

I am using the following for my fine-truning:

model = VisionEncoderDecoderModel.from_encoder_decoder_pretrained(
“facebook/deit-base-distilled-patch16-384”, “HeNLP/HeRo”
)

Would someone guide me on how encoder/decoder transformers work with RTL scripts. cc @NielsR, @Norod78: is there a setting I use to tell a model that the labels are RTL?

Thank you,

hi there, I was working on a project similar to yours (Hebrew trOcr) and in my experience, there is no special setting for RTL, I just used the seq2seq script. by the meantime I’ve succeeded to over fit on few lines, but I’m stuck without a good quality dataset.

if you are interested, I would share my project on GitHub.

Thanks @sivan22. I take it, then, that you are NOT reversing the ground truth data (i.e. “שלום” becoming “םולש”)? How does your model know how to compare ground truth against the image? Does it just read/encode/decode everything LTR, text or image? And what are you getting for CER?

There is a list of Hebrew datasets at GitHub - NNLP-IL/Hebrew-Resources: A comprehensive list of Hebrew NLP resources..

hi @jhhf, as i understand, it is just a sequence of tokens, one after another, that are the result of the model processing the image, so you could read these tokens from right to left if you wish, and the model will just be trained to understand RTL writing.