Abnormal learn rate curve

I am working on a school project which is to classify news headlines. It’s a binary classification. I scraped the news headlines, used sklearn train_test_split to split them. Then used ktrain - distilBert to classify them. There is a learn rate finder function, I run that and get an abnormal learn rate curve as shown in below image:

while the normal learn rate should be somehow in a U-shape, falls gradually from a higher loss then up again.

What does that abnormal learn rate curve imply? Is it to do with overfitting or anything? I am really new to the transformer thing and there are not many resources on the internet so I try to ask here. Thanks.

Hi, not sure if I understand correctly

• Which “learn rate finder function” you use ? ( just curious as I am familiar of the idea coming from fast.ai team )
  • spike in 10^-1 looks plausible to me since it’s too much big learning rate
  • Did you initialize your model from some checkpoints ? If yes, maybe the model is already good and have small loss in the beginning, so small loss with LR=10^-7 is also plausible

I just follow this step by step tutorial of ktrain , it is a light weight wrapper of huggingface transformer. It has the learn rate finder function. I am not sure about the initializing from checkpoint part, does that mean a pretrained model? As far as I know, the tutorial is using the pretrained distilBert from Huggingface.

Also, the learn rate curve demonstrated in the tutorial is like this:

That’s why I think mine is not a normal one.

Yes, Pretrained model (= checkpoint i mentioned above) can be one reason. Maybe you can try remove the pretrained (init from scratch) and plot the graph again