BERT: What is the shape of each Transformer Encoder block in the final hidden state?

Hi everyone,
I am studying BERT paper after I have studied the Transformer.bert

The thing I can’t understand yet is the output of each Transformer Encoder in the last hidden state (Trm before T1, T2, etc… in the image).

In particular, I should know that thanks (somehow) to the Positional Encoding, the most left Trm represents the embedding of the first token, the second left represents the embedding of the second token and so on.

Hence, the shape of each one of them should be simply the hidden_dim (for example, 768) if what I have said before is true.

However, I am not convinced of this logic; so is the answer correct?

Many thanks in advance

1 Like

Your answer is true but your logic seems shaky. The input embedding has nothing to do with the final shape. In other words, you could still have an output of each token by having an 1*n_tokens to 768*n_tokens linear layer and that’s it. In the case of the transformer, these have the embedding has the same size as the hidden states of the encoder, but it is conceivable to have transformations in-between that deal with different shapes, e.g. a smaller embedding shape to reduce dimensionality for computational efficiency.

So in your image, assuming the encoder block has a hidden size of 768, the output will N*768, simply because 768 is the output shape of the last layer in the encoder block.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply @BramVanroy.
However, when you say

this means that the output of each transformer of the final hidden layer will be N*768 or the “combined” output of all transformers in the final hidden layer?

I think that my problem concern the fact that BERT, in every hidden layers, uses a number of transformers encoder equal to the number of tokens in input.
In the image, if we have N tokens, so for each hidden layer we have N Encoders.
But if each Encoders outputs a value of shape N*768, so there is a problem.