Colab RAM crash error - Fine-tuning RoBERTa in Colab

Hi,
I’m trying to fine-tune my first NLI model with Transformers on Colab. I’m trying to fine-tune ynie/roberta-large-snli_mnli_fever_anli_R1_R2_R3-nli on a dataset of around 276.000 hypothesis-premise pairs. I’m following the instructions from the docs here and here.

The issue is that I get a memory error, when I run the code below on colab. My colab GPU seems to have around 12 GB RAM. The error occurs at the end during the training step, but I see in colab that already after the encoding step, 7~GB RAM is occupied. Then RAM usage shoots up at training and colab crashes.

I’m new to fine-tuning models. It would be great if someone could give some advice on how to reduce the RAM footprint in the code below.

What I’ve tried:

• Use model.half() to reduce memory footprint
  • I changed per_device_train_batch_size and per_device_eval_batch_size from 32 to 8 to 2. (Not sure if a lower number here reduces the memory requirement? Or are higher numbers better for RAM?)
  • What else can/should be improved in the code below?

Thanks a lot for your help!

My code:

# ... some data preparation

###  load model and tokenizer
from transformers import AutoTokenizer, AutoModelForSequenceClassification
import torch

max_length = 256
hg_model_hub_name = "ynie/roberta-large-snli_mnli_fever_anli_R1_R2_R3-nli"
tokenizer = AutoTokenizer.from_pretrained(hg_model_hub_name)
model = AutoModelForSequenceClassification.from_pretrained(hg_model_hub_name)

device = "cuda" if torch.cuda.is_available() else "cpu"
print(f"Device: {device}")
if device == "cuda":
    model = model.half()  # for half-precision training. reduces RAM requirement; decreases speed if on older GPU # https://huggingface.co/transformers/v1.1.0/examples.html
model.to(device)
model.train();

# ... some data preparation ... 

encodings_train = tokenizer(premise_train, hypothesis_train, return_tensors="pt", max_length=max_length,