DALL-E - mini version

Project Recreate a mini-version of DALL-E

Useful links:

Original post:

It would be cool to recreate something like DALL-E.

I can see some challenges though:

• difficult paper though the main concepts could be simplified
  • availability/collection of dataset
  • the model used was GPT-3, not sure if interesting results can be obtained with smaller models
  • may require more time to implement

Also I don’t believe a public version is available so maybe it will be easier to just do it in Pytorch (I have no experience yet with Flax/JAX).

6 Likes

We Could train NLP based models to generate embedding for sentences and then use this embeddings as input embedding for gan model to generate images. This is pretty simple idea just vice versa of image captioning, but I think it can work pretty well given the performance of transformers based models.

2 Likes

Thats a great idea. Can I join?

1 Like

Hey @boris

That’s a great idea, I’m super excited about this!

Regarding the dataset, here are a few that can be used for this

Also regarding architecture, seems using a simple scaled-up GPT2 as LM can also give good results (see CogView). By simple, I mean no sparse attention or row-column attentions, etc which is used in the DALL-E I guess. And GPT2 is already available in JAX. And JAX is way faster on TPU than PT :wink:

And if you look at this discussion it seems an even smaller model could give good enough results on the domain-specific dataset.

Also as suggested in the discussion above using the VQGAN from taming-transformers as the images tokenizer can further reduce the complexity of training such models as the max image token length for these VQGAN models is 256 (way less than DALL-E’s VQVAE, which uses 1024), so overall 256 text tokens and 256 image tokens = 512, should be manageable on a single v3-8.

1 Like

Those are really great ideas @Vaibhavbrkn @valhalla (and thanks for the datasets)!
@raghav66 Anybody can join!