Debugging my poor Decision Transformer performance

Hello!

I am attempting to apply Decision Transformers (DTs) to a research area I’ve been working on for the last ~18 months. I have implemented the DT model using the original code base (decision-transformer/decision_transformer.py at master · kzl/decision-transformer · GitHub) which is more or less identical to the Hugging Face code base (transformers/modeling_decision_transformer.py at main · huggingface/transformers · GitHub) and it can learn something, but its performance plateaus long before I would have expected. I am hoping that perhaps people from this community might be able to give me some pointers on where to look for errors/improvements in DT if I walk you through my preliminary experiments. In the below text, I have put specific questions in bold which I would be enormously grateful if anyone could address.

N.B. To get around the rule that ‘new users can only put one embedded image in a post’, I am posting each figure in separate posts blow.

Metrics Tracked

During training, I am tracking the following metrics:

1. training/loss: The loss computed for a given batch and used to update DT.
  2. training/state_error: (state\_preds - state\_target)^{2}
  3. training/action_error: (action\_preds - action\_target)^{2}
  4. training/return_error: (return\_preds - return\_target)^{2}
  5. training/imitation_success_frac: The fraction of expert actions which were correctly predicted in a sampled batch of trajectories.
  6. evaluation/return: The return achieved by a DT checkpoint when rolled out and evaluated by setting the initial target to the expert’s initial return and updating the returns-to-go at each step accordingly

Question: Are there any other training and/or evaluation metrics you’d recommend tracking to better monitor DT?

Experiments

1. Initial sanity check: Overfitting to one expert trajectory