Deploy multilingual sentence tansformer into cloud

Hi community,

I am new to transformer models and particularly interested by a multilingual sentence transformer (stsb-xlm-r-multilingual, 1.1 Go).

I have passed multiple times to search on how to deploy this model on cloud with the highest throughput (up to 1000 requests/sec) and lowest latency (<1 sec), while trying to saving costs. It seems to be painful.

Would anyone have advice on deployment requirements (CPU, GPU, RAM,…), clouds (AWS, GCP,…), and frameworks (torchserve, triton,…) to meet my needs?

Thanks!

Hi,

Would anyone have advice?

Thanks !

Hi @Matthieu,

The answer to your question would require some experimentation with the model in the various scenarios, but it’s generally cheaper to use CPUs and scale horizontally so you can achieve high throughput. You can find a some nice case studies here:

Regarding frameworks, I usually deploy my models with FastAPI + Docker and have not found a strong need to use torchserve yet (which is experimental in any case). For clouds I don’t have a strong opinion, but have generally found the UX of GCP to be better than AWS :slight_smile: Other alternatives include Azure or Paperspace Gradient, but I’d definitely do some investigation before committing to any of the providers

HTH!

2 Likes

Hi @lewtun,

It is effectively cheaper to use CPUs and scale horizontally so you can achieve a better throughput. However, this method doesn’t improve latency in the case of real-time inference with batch size=1.

https://toriml.medium.com/why-you-should-use-different-backends-when-deploying-dl-models-e3d23ee58a9d

Is using FastAPI + Docker a common easy way to deploy on kubernetes ? Would you have any reference to guide me step by step?

Thanks for guide through the choice of better UX cloud, but does GCP contrains the multitude of choices concerning the different target architecture ?
Would you use directly EC2 instances or Sagemaker ?

Thanks !