Dimension issue when fine tuning blenderbot

Hi everyone, I’m new to Deep Learning. I came across the wonderful Transformers library last week and attempting to fine-tune the blenderbot model. I work at a charity that helps people with Cancer and wanted to see if I can use a chatbot on our cancer forum online to answer basic questions for our users.

Just to test if I can get the fine-tuning process to work I’m initially loading a simple dataset from a csv file with a numeric labels and corresponding strings using the load_dataset function e.g.

1, Acute lymphoblastic leukaemia is a type of blood cancer it starts from white blood cells called lymphocytes in the bone marrow.
1, acute lymphoblastic leukaemia usually develops quickly over days or weeks
1, To understand how and why leukaemia affects you as it does, it helps to know how you make blood cells.

I followed the documentation for fine tuning the model from the huggingface course, which is nicely written and seemed fairly straightforward

from transformers import BlenderbotTokenizer, BlenderbotForConditionalGeneration
import torch

checkpoint = "facebook/blenderbot-400M-distill"

device = torch.device("cuda") if torch.cuda.is_available() else torch.device("cpu")

tokenizer = BlenderbotTokenizer.from_pretrained(checkpoint)
model = BlenderbotForConditionalGeneration.from_pretrained(checkpoint).to(device)

I then created my dataset class and passed in the encodings from the tokenizer step train_encodings = tokenizer(train_texts, truncation=True, padding=True)

import torch

class CancerDataset(torch.utils.data.Dataset):
    def __init__(self, encodings, labels):
        self.encodings = encodings
        self.labels = labels

def __getitem__(self, idx):
        item = {key: torch.tensor(val[idx]) for key, val in self.encodings.items()}
        item['labels'] = torch.tensor(self.labels[idx])
        check_input_ids = item["input_ids"]
        return item

def __len__(self):
        return len(self.labels)