Does it make sense to train DistilBERT from scratch in a new corpus

Hi! First post in the forums, excited to start getting deep into this great library!

I have a rookie, theoretical question. I have been reading the DistilBERT paper (fantastic!) and was wondering if it makes sense to pretrain a DistilBERT model from scratch.

In the paper, the authors specify that “The student is trained with a distillation loss over the soft target probabilities of the teacher.”. My question is, when pretraining DistilBERT on a new corpus (say, another language) what are the ‘probabilities of the teacher’? AFAIK, the teacher does not have any interesting probabilites to show since it has never seen the corpus either.

So my question is, how does the transfomers library distill knowledge into the model when I train DistilBertForMaskedLM from scratch in a brand new corpus? Sorry in advance if there is something really obvious I’m missing, I’m quite new to using transformers.

Just to be extra explicit, I would load my model like this:

config = DistilBertConfig(vocab_size=VOCAB_SIZE)
model = DistilBertForMaskedLM(config)

and train it like this:

trainer = Trainer(
        model=model,
        args=training_args,
        train_dataset=tokenized_datasets["train"],
        eval_dataset=tokenized_datasets["valid"],
        tokenizer=tokenizer,
        data_collator=data_collator,
    )
trainer.train()
2 Likes

Hi @lesscomfortable welcome to the forum!

In the DistilBERT paper they use bert-base-uncased as the teacher for pretraining (i.e. masked language modelling). In particular, the DistilBERT student is pretrained on the same corpus as BERT (Toronto Books + Wikipedia) which is probably quite important for being able to effectively transfer the knowledge from the teacher to the student.

So the answer to your question