Getting error while resuming the training with a single GPU

Hello all,

I’m new to the Huggingface library though I’m familiar with the deep learning in general and some of the DL libraries.

so I’m trying to train a BERT model from scratch with a custom text. I followed the instructions here and managed to get the training going with 2 GPUs. However, later on, I had to stop the training and resume with a single GPU. Then, I got the error below. I looked up this forum, StackOverflow etc. but couldn’t find any solution so far.

The environment info is as follows (the result of the command transformers-cli env):

• transformers version: 4.10.0.dev0
  • Platform: Linux-5.4.0-65-generic-x86_64-with-glibc2.10
  • Python version: 3.8.5
  • PyTorch version (GPU?): 1.8.1+cu111 (True)
  • Tensorflow version (GPU?): not installed (NA)
  • Flax version (CPU?/GPU?/TPU?): not installed (NA)
  • Jax version: not installed
  • JaxLib version: not installed
  • Using GPU in script?: Yes
  • Using distributed or parallel set-up in script?: First yes, then no (I guess)

I created a big text file where I got a sentence at each line and a newline in between documents (I guess it’s called the NSP format) and I’m using a tokenizer from the Huggingface repo.
So I started the training with this command:

python run_mlm.py --model_type bert --train_file <path_to_my_train_file> --validation_file <path_to_my_val_file> --do_train --do_eval --output_dir /my/local/path/test-mlm --tokenizer_name dbmdz/bert-base-turkish-cased --cache_dir /my/local/cache/dir --line_by_line --save_total_limit 2 --logging_dir /my/log/dir

I have two GPUs and this command was using both of them as intended. Then, when I stopped the training and wanted to resume with one GPU with the following command (Basically I just added CUDA_VISIBLE_DEVICES=1 at the beginning):