How Labelled Data is Processed | Transformers Trainer

Hello, I am pretty new to fine-tuning and even NLP as a whole. I havenā€™t been working with the Transformers library for very long so thereā€™s much that I donā€™t know or fully understand.

Iā€™ve been trying to make sense of how the Transformers Trainer makes use of ā€œlabelsā€, ā€œinput_idsā€, and ā€œattention_masksā€ during the fine-tuning process.

Here is how I understood the overall process:

Supervised Fine-tuning:

• to perform SFT with the Trainer class, must explicitly provide ā€œlabelsā€ as part of your train/eval dataset
  • when ā€œlabelsā€ are not provided, the Trainer class still functions fine but the process would then be classified as Unsupervised Fine-tuning
  • the Trainer has default metrics that is computes (perplexityā€¦?) for evaluation and you can explicitly provide other metrics to compute with the compute_metrics argument of the Trainer class
  • fine-tuning is performed by somehow using the labels and input_ids, with a certain loss function (cross_entropy lossā€¦?)

Here are some questions that Iā€™m struggling with:

1. In many of the fine-tuning tutorials Iā€™ve seen, the authors use the Trainer class to train a model initialized with AutoModelForCausalLM. Does the ā€œCausalLMā€ part indicate that the model has been initialized specifically for next token predictionā€¦? If so, does the way that the model is initialized (ā€¦ForCausalLM, ā€¦ForSeq2Seq, etc.) have an effect on the way the Trainer performs fine-tuning? Similarly, do the different task types entail different formatting techniques when it comes to the data itself?

2. Some of the demo code Iā€™ve seen implements supervised fine-tuning by using the mask token id (-100) to mask everything except for what the model would ideally output (nox project). I wanted to know how exactly the mask token is processed by the language models during fine-tuning, but canā€™t seem to find any decent sites/explanations.