How to generate a samples of summaries with Pegasus?

I am a beginner around here. I would like to generate some samples of abstractive text summaries using Pegasus. I used the code snippet from Pegasus — transformers 4.3.0 documentation . However, I realize the summary is the same everytime I use decode.

How should I generate distinct samples of summaries? Thank you in advance. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Here is an example of generating summaries with custom parameters.
I am only using a small subset of the available tweaks. For more info, I find this blog post very helpful:
How to generate text: using different decoding methods for language generation with Transformers.

#! pip install transformers
#! pip install datasets
#! pip install sentencepiece

from transformers import PegasusTokenizer, PegasusForConditionalGeneration
import datasets

model = PegasusForConditionalGeneration.from_pretrained("sshleifer/distill-pegasus-xsum-16-4")
tokenizer = PegasusTokenizer.from_pretrained("sshleifer/distill-pegasus-xsum-16-4")

# Download data samples
data = datasets.load_dataset("xsum", split="validation[:10]")

# Pick two examples
text2summarize_1 = data["document"][0]
text2summarize_2 = data["document"][3]

#print(text2summarize_1) 
#print(text2summarize_2)

def generate_for_sample(sample, **kwargs):
    """
    Returns decoded summary (code snippets from the docs)
    kwargs are passed on to the model's generate function
    """
    inputs = tokenizer(sample, truncation=True, max_length=1024, return_tensors='pt')
    summary_ids = model.generate(inputs['input_ids'], **kwargs)
    return [tokenizer.decode(g, 
                             skip_special_tokens=True, 
                             clean_up_tokenization_spaces=False) for g in summary_ids]

print("Summaries generated with default parameters:")
summary_1 = generate_for_sample(text2summarize_1)
summary_2 = generate_for_sample(text2summarize_2)
print("summary_1: {}".format(summary_1))