How to programmatically enable or disable components?

Hi,

I am new to Gradio and I am struggling to figure out how to enable or disable (i.e. change the interactive flag) of component B based on events in component A.

My question can be best illustrated in code:

import gradio as gr                                                             

def b_clicked(o):
    # how to enable the other button "o"?
    pass

with gr.Blocks() as app:
    b = gr.Button("Enable the other obutton", interactive = True)
    o = gr.Button("Other Button", interactive = False)
    b.click(fn = b_clicked, inputs = o)

if __name__ == "__main__":
    app.launch()

I know there is a gr.update() method, which in theory should allow to update the value of the interactive setting, but I failed to understand how to reference another component. In def b_clicked(o) the o parameter is a string and not an object.

I tried wrapping the whole code into a class, thus gaining access to the actual button objects via self.b and self.o and then trying something like:

def b_clicked(self):
    self.o.update(interactive = True)

However nothing changed on the screen. I also tried to add an app.render() after the update, but this did not help either.

What is the proper way to accomplish that?

Kind regards,
Jin

1 Like

Enjoy, I hope it’s not too late

import gradio as gr                                                             

def b_clicked(o):
    return gr.Button.update(interactive=True)

with gr.Blocks() as app:
    o = gr.Button("Other Button", interactive = False)
    b.click(fn = b_clicked, inputs = b, outputs = o)

app.launch()
2 Likes

Hi @Bigiman,

thank you, this works as expected! It’s never too late :slight_smile: Even if I did not use Gradio for my project in the end and switched to Glade + GTK (not due to this issue, but due to how Gradio handles long videos), I still appreciate the answer, so that I know how to do it properly in the future.