How to save my model to use it later

Hello Amazing people,
This is my first post and I am really new to machine learning and Hugginface.

I followed this awesome guide here multilabel Classification with DistilBert

and used my dataset and the results are very good. I am having a hard time know trying to understand how to save the model I trainned and all the artifacts needed to use my model later.

I tried at the end of the tutorial: torch.save(trainer, 'my_model') but I got this error msg:

AttributeError: Can't pickle local object 'get_linear_schedule_with_warmup.<locals>.lr_lambda'

I have the following files saved for each epoch:

config.json
    optimizer.pt
    pytorch_model.bin
    rng_state.pth
    special_tokens_map.json
    tokenizer.json
    tokenizer_config.json
    trainer_state.json
    training_args.bin
    vocab.txt

Can someone kindly guide me how to save this model to later use?
Thank you very much

2 Likes

Hello there,

You can save models with trainer.save_model("path_to_save"). Another cool thing you can do is you can push your model to the Hugging Face Hub as well. I added couple of lines to notebook to show you, here. You can find pushing there.

12 Likes

Thank you very much for helping me Merve. Huge Thanks.
Just one more question if you donā€™t mind: Iā€™ll now use my model locally at first. You helped me to save all the files I need to load it again.

So to use the same model I save with trainer.save_model(path) I just need to use trainer.load(path)?

Thank you very much :wink:

1 Like

Hello again,

You can simply load the model using the model classā€™ from_pretrained(model_path) method like below:
(you can either save locally and load from local or push to Hub and load from Hub)

from transformers import BertConfig, BertModel
# if model is on hugging face Hub
model = BertModel.from_pretrained("bert-base-uncased")
# from local folder
model = BertModel.from_pretrained("./test/saved_model/")