Img2seq model with pretrained weights

Hi there,

I’m very new to this transformers business, and have been playing around with the HF code to learn things as I tinker.

the context:
One thing I would like to do is build an encoder/decoder out of a CNN and a Transformer Decoder, for generating text from images. My wife likes to pretend that she’s seen movies, but when prompted for the plot she just summarizes contextual clues she gets from the movie posters. I want to see if I can get a transformer to do the same thing.

I have looked at what’s out there on the web, and most of the decoders I find for this kind of task are based on recurrent networks. Instead, I would like to adapt a pretrained transformer model to do the same thing.

the question:
Given a pre-trained CNN encoder, what would be the best way to extract the decoder from a pre-trained GPT/BERT model? I would ideally like to fine-tune something that’s already in a good place to begin with. I’m working with limited computational resources (a pair of consumer GPUs with about 12gb of vram in total) and a small training dataset (a few thousand movie synopses with corresponding images).

Cheers,
Mike

1 Like

Interesting project. My suggestion would be to take the Transformer based ViT and merge that with a decoder as a sequence to sequence function but with cross attention.

You can do this easily now, as I’ve recently added a generic VisionEncoderDecoder model class. It allows you to mix-and-match any vision Transformer encoder (such as ViT, DeiT, BEiT) with any text Transformer decoder (such as BERT, RoBERTa GPT-2, etc.). A typical use case is image captioning.

1 Like

Oh ok. Thank you for your quick reply. Let me breakdown what you typed to make sure I understood.