Issue uploading model: "fatal: cannot exec '.git/hooks/pre-push': Permission denied"

Hi there,
I’m trying to upload my first model to the model hub. I’ve followed step-by-step the docs here, but encountered different issues:

• I got it to sort of work on my local machine, but it was extremely slow (20~kbit per sec) and I had to abandon it. I saw this topic and that git lfs install is important, but it still doesn’t work.
  • Now I’ve retried it on a google colab and there I’m getting the following error when I !git push :
    fatal: cannot exec '.git/hooks/pre-push': Permission denied.

Here is a colab with my exact code: https://colab.research.google.com/drive/1OSJh4GySF_m3RZTPerXtBlNltMjv3hQy?usp=sharing
Uploading via colab is more important/convenient for me because I’m also training via colab.

Would be great if someone could tell me what I’m doing wrong in the colab (I’m new to using git) and I’m looking forward to adding my first models to the hub :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @MoritzLaurer, the doc could be improved but in your notebook it looks like you have two git repos (one you create with git init, the other you clone from huggingface.co) whereas you only should have one.

Here’s a minimal Colab here: https://colab.research.google.com/drive/1TFgta6bYHte2lLiQoJ0U0myRd67bIuiu?usp=sharing

Let me know if this solves your issue.

@sgugger I think we might want to remove the “and your clone is setup with the right remote URL” clause from the doc as it seems to be more confusing than helpful, what do you think? Maybe we can also link to my Colab above as a self-contained example of how to push from a Colab notebook.

1 Like

(Also cc’ing @pierric for info)

Thanks so much @julien-c , I followed the code in your colab and it works! Very happy about my first model (now living here) and I’ll add a model card with a proper description, metrics etc soon :slight_smile: