Logging training accuracy using Trainer class

Hello,

I am running BertForSequenceClassification and I would like to log the accuracy as well as other metrics that I have already defined for my training set. I saw in another issue that I have to add a self.evaluate(self.train_dataset) somewhere in the code, but I am a beginner when it comes to Python and deep learning in general so I am not sure where exactly I have to include it.

I was trying to replicate the evaluate() method of the Trainer class, taking the train_dataset as argument, but it did not work. It would really mean a lot if you could guide me as for where I should tweak the code!

Thank you for your help!

1 Like

hey @dbejarano31, assuming that you want to log the training metrics during training, i think there are (at least) two options:

1. subclass TrainerCallback (docs) to create a custom callback that logs the training metrics by triggering an event with on_evaluate
  2. subclass Trainer and override the evaluate function (docs) to inject the additional evaluation code

option 2 might be easier to implement since you can use the existing logic as a template :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thanks so much @lewtun!

I believe I managed to tweak the evaluate() method, but now I am struggling to log the metrics inside on_evaluate().

I keep getting the following error:

But when I inspect the log_history, I have both the training metrics and the eval_loss for the first epoch. I have been trying to find metrics but I haven’t had any success. I suspect it must be because of how I customized evaluate() to output a dictionary with the validation and training metrics, so below you can find my code.

`class MyTrainer(Trainer):
def init(self, model,
args = None,
data_collator = None,
train_dataset = None,
eval_dataset = None,
tokenizer = None,
model_init = None,
compute_metrics = None,
callbacks = None,
optimizers = (None,None)
):