Multi-GPU inference with LLM produces gibberish

Hey,

I am currently trying to run inference on “huggyllama/llama-7b”. I am using the following minimal script:

from transformers import pipeline

checkpoint = "huggyllama/llama-7b"
p = pipeline("text-generation", checkpoint, torch_dtype=torch.bfloat16, device_map="auto") 
print(p("hi there"))

I run it with torchrun:

NCCL_P2P_DISABLE='1' torchrun --nproc_per_node <n_gpus> --master_port=13833 run_llama_hf.py

With a single GPU, I get reasonable outputs.
Output single GPU: ‘hi there, I’m a newbie to this forum and I’m looking for some help’

As soon as I use multiple GPUs, I get:
Output multi GPU: ‘hi there header driv EUannotuta voor measurements shooting variableslowea grayŌbestįbinding’

My setup:
2 x NVIDIA a30 (24g vRAM)

• transformers version: 4.28.0.dev0
  • accelerate version: 0.18.0.dev0
  • Platform: Linux-4.18.0-305.3.1.el8_4.x86_64-x86_64-with-glibc2.28
  • Python version: 3.9.16
  • Huggingface_hub version: 0.13.2
  • PyTorch version (GPU?): 2.0.0+cu117 (True)

Also: As soon as I run the 13B model, I run out of vRAM (which shouldn’t be the case, if the model was loaded in parallel).

Any ideas about what might be the problem appreciated :hugs:.

1 Like

This code cannot be run with torchrun. device_map="auto" will use your two GPUs for the generation

2 Likes

Thanks a lot for your reply.
I have been using plain python and accelerate launch before, but with the same gibberish output.

EDIT: I don’t know if related, but I had similar issues with native LLaMA on multi-machine runs before (see Torchrun distributed running does not work · Issue #201 · facebookresearch/llama · GitHub), which was due to wrong assignment of LOCAL_RANK and (global) RANK in the original repo.

1 Like

There seems to be some deeper problem (it appears as if it has to do with some interaction of the hardware and the drivers and the latest version of transformers/tokenizers). We got in contact with NVIDIA about this.