PyTorch Dataset/DataLoader classes

Hi!

My question is not directly related to HF libraries, so it is a bit off-topic, but I hope the moderators will not take too strict a view on that and let me keep it.

When training ResNet on ImageNet dataset, I coded some dataloading functionality by hand, which was extremely useful to me. I am currently transitioning from TF2 to PyTorch and I am very new to PyTorch Dataset and Dataloader classes. I am wondering whether PyTorch Dataset/DataLoader classes make the flow I coded by hand available out of the box. I did read PyTorch tutorials and API docs before posting the question.

Here is the problem:
ImageNet consists of ~ 1.3mln JPEG images, which take about 140Gb disk space. When compiling a batch, one needs to read a batch_size number of image files from the disk, and each of them needs to be pre-processed and this pre-processing is computationally expensive (load an image file of size NxM, randomly choose an integer in the interval [256, 480], re-size the image in the way that the shortest size is equal to this integer, crop randomly to extract a 224x224 square image, apply random color transformation to it, etc…). If this pre-processing could be done once and then used for all the epochs, it wouldn’t be a problem at all, but it needs to be re-done for each file each epoch (that’s how data augmenation is achieved). And training requires a large number of epochs (50-120).

Here is how I solved it:
I borrowed 30Gb from my RAM and made a buffer disk out of it. This space is enough to comfortably accomodate more that 1,000 batches (already pre-processed). I created a text file, monitoring the training progress (with two lines: current epoch number, current batch number), the training process updates this file after each 200 batches (which is equivalent of 1% of epoch with my batch size). Then I
wrote a run-time pre-processing script (both training and pre-processing run at the same time in parallel), which checks: