Setting up environment in Sagemaker Studio

Hello everyone,

I am currently working on finetuning a DETR object detection model in Sagemaker Studio using a Hugging Face Estimator. I have installed the libraries with pip, as shown below:

!pip install transformers datasets huggingface_hub evaluate timm albumentations wandb sagemaker

However, when I tried to check the versions of Pytorch and transformers inside the SageMaker Studio notebook, I got the following error:

import torch
print(torch.__version__)
>>>ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'torch'
!transformers-cli
>>>None of PyTorch, TensorFlow >= 2.0, or Flax have been found. Models won't be available and only tokenizers, configuration and file/data utilities can be used.

I am new to Sagemaker (I usually use Colab) and I am wondering what could be going wrong in the settings of the environment. Do I need to install Pytorch myself or should I change the settings inside Sagemaker? Or should I look into Deep Learning Containers? I would greatly appreciate any guidance or advice on how to resolve this issue. Thank you very much in advance for your help!

1 Like

It seems that you don’t have pytorch installed. You can either use a pytorch kernel or pip install torch.

1 Like

Thank you so much for your help! Just a follow-up question, do I need to explicitly install packages for train.py? For instance, I installed albumentations in the Sagemaker notebook. However, when I import albumentations in train.py. There is a ModuleNotFoundError.

requirements.txt

transformers==4.17.0
datasets[s3]==1.18.4
huggingface_hub
timm
evaluate
albumentations
wandb
sagemaker
ipywidgets==7.0

train.py

import albumentations

>>>ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'albumentations'

Do you have any idea about this issue? Now I am using subprocess.check_call to run pip install inside train.py as a workaround. Thanks!

import subprocess
subprocess.check_call(["pip", "install", "albumentations"])