The reason `prepare_seq2seq_batch` for ProphetNet is not existed

Hi,

I tried to use ProphetNet with Seq2SeqTrainer, but it failed.

The error message tell me: This is because the collator I implemented uses prepare_seq2seq_batch() in _encode(), but prepare_seq2seq_batch() is not implemented for ProphetNet Tokenizer.

Is there any reason ProphetNet cannot have prepare_seq2seq_batch() in its tokenizer?

My understanding may be insufficient, but it seems that a function that assigns special tokens in a unique way is implemented for the tokenizer. Is that the cause?

If it is implemented like other Seq2SeqLM, will ProphetNet’s original performance not be exhibited?

Thank you in advance.

yusukemori

1 Like

I don’t know about prophetnet special tokens, but it would be useful to implement that method!

cc @patrickvonplaten @valhalla

2 Likes

@sshleifer

Thank for responding my question!

I agree that it would be useful if the method is implemented.
I’m not a good engineer, but I hope I can be some help for the implementation.

yusukemori

Yes, I think we should definitely implement this method :slight_smile: Will try to find time in the next couple of weeks

1 Like

@sshleifer @patrickvonplaten @valhalla

I’m now trying to implement the method, and it seems my implementation works on CPU.
(I had to set --max_source_length to a small value for avoiding index out of range error.)
I saw that the code occurred errors (CUDA error, not reproducible…) on GPU, but it sometimes worked without error. I think I should check the reason.
I’m sorry but I haven’t tried it on TPU.

I’m now working on branch forest1988-prophetnet-prepare-seq2seq-batch of https://github.com/forest1988/transformers.git .

I’ll continue to check if it works as I intended on GPU and TPU.

Moreover, I made a ipynb file for debugging and it maybe useful for you to check how my modified implementation works on Colaboratory.