Time Series Transformer. Lagged values and time alignment

Hello, I’m relatively new to working with transformers, and I’ve been exploring the implementation of a Time Series Transformer. However, I’m struggling to grasp how time features align with lagged values in the training phase.

Upon examining the code for create_network_inputs() in TimeSeriesTransformerModel() alongside the generate() function in ‘TimeSeriesTransformerForPrediction()’, an observation is that “1” is a mandatory value for config.lags_sequence; otherwise inference would not work because there would be missing values between the observed context and the forecast. Also, it is worth mentioning that the minimum value for config.lags_sequence should not fall below one (zero or negative). In the first piece of code, the function calls ‘get_lagged_subsequences()’ with shift=0, while the second utilizes shift=1.

It is apparent that, during the inference process, the last time value must be utilized as the initial token to commence the incremental, step-by-step greedy forecast—a method that aligns with logical reasoning. Doing so would require future values that are not currently available, introducing a practical constraint.

def get_lagged_subsequences(
	self, sequence: torch.Tensor, subsequences_length: int, shift: int = 0
) -> torch.Tensor:
	sequence_length = sequence.shape[1]
	indices = [lag - shift for lag in self.config.lags_sequence]

lagged_values = []
	for lag_index in indices:
		begin_index = -lag_index - subsequences_length
		end_index = -lag_index if lag_index > 0 else None
		lagged_values.append(sequence[:, begin_index:end_index, ...])
	return torch.stack(lagged_values, dim=-1)