Training a domain-specific roberta from roberta-base

Hey there,

I apologize in advance if the question below is simple but I’m new to transformers and I want to make sure I get things right before wasting my GPU time training the “wrong” model.

The goal: I want to train a domain-specific roberta model, building on the pre-trained roberta model, therefore starting from roberta-base’s weights rather than from scratch.

The issue: I first followed your tutorial , before realizing that the weights were not initialized on roberta-base’s before training.

My question: What are the correct steps to train a domain-specific model on-top of roberta-base?

1. Train a ByteLevelBPETokenizer on my data

tokenizer = ByteLevelBPETokenizer()
tokenizer.train(files=paths, vocab_size=50_000, min_frequency=2,
special_tokens=[“<s>”, “<pad>”, “</s>”, “<unk>”, “<mask>”])
tokenizer.save_model(“mymodel”)’

and use it to preprocess my data, FYI I have 700,000 sentences stored in a txt file, one sentence per line.

from transformers import LineByLineTextDataset
training_dataset = LineByLineTextDataset(tokenizer=tokenizer, file_path=“data/training.txt”, block_size=128,)
evalutation_dataset = LineByLineTextDataset(tokenizer=tokenizer, file_path=“data/testing.txt”, block_size=128,)

1. Get the roberta config

from transformers import RobertaConfig, RobertaForMaskedLM
config = RobertaConfig( vocab_size=52_000, max_position_embeddings=514,
num_attention_heads=12, num_hidden_layers=12, type_vocab_size=1,)
config.save_model(“mymodel”)
model = RobertaForMaskedLM(config=config)

Or should I instead use:

from transformers import RobertaForMaskedLM
model= RobertaForMaskedLM.from_pretrained(‘roberta-base’)

1. Get data Collaor

from transformers import DataCollatorForLanguageModeling
data_collator = DataCollatorForLanguageModeling(tokenizer=tokenizer, mlm=True, mlm_probability=0.15)

1. Set up training arguments and train

from transformers import Trainer, TrainingArguments, EvalPrediction