Tune mT5 for translation of natural language requests to bash

Hello,

I would like to discuss a couple of issues with the forum, to see if you can help me.

First, I would like to validate my strategy for solving a problem, and then see if you can help me with implementation errors.

I am new to these types of techniques, so I really don’t know if the way I proceeded was correct or if I could have approached the problem in a different way.

The problem is as follows:

I would like to be able to make a program that receives a request in natural language (initially in Spanish) and is capable of returning the bash command that solves it.

For example, if I tell it “I want to know the date” it returns “date” or if I tell it “give me the time” it returns “date +%T”. I know that in many cases it will be easier and faster to write the command than to make the request in natural language, but I would like to do it this way to learn and because I find it an interesting challenge.

To simplify the problem I have first focused on the cat, ls and cd commands. Perhaps the cat is not one of the simplest, as it usually serves as a starting point for more complex requests.

I have started with the dataset, first I have focused on the cat, and with the help of ChatGPT4 I have generated a set of 4000 records, although my intention is to initially do about 10k for each of these most used commands. I have pursued to give variety to the dataset, so I have included requests of different types, using different verbs, with different structures, different user profile, requests that are solved with a simple expression and requests that seek more complex bash expressions…

As a pretrained model I have chosen the mT5, as I believe it is the one that best suits this problem. It is multilingual and as an encoder/decoder architecture is good for translation tasks.