Unsupported value type BatchEncoding

Hi

I’m a HuggingFace Newbie and I’m trying to fine tune DistilBERT for a three label sentiment classification task.

To do so I am using as a guide the HuggingFace Course. Hence I am using the following code to train my model:-

model = TFAutoModelForSequenceClassification.from_pretrained(checkpoint, num_labels=3)

lr_scheduler = PolynomialDecay(

initial_learning_rate=5e-5,

end_learning_rate=0.,

decay_steps=num_train_steps

)

opt = Adam(learning_rate=lr_scheduler)

model.compile(optimizer=opt, loss=loss, metrics=['accuracy', F1_metric()])

model.fit(

encoded_train,

np.array(y_train),

validation_data=(encoded_val, np.array(y_val)),

batch_size=8,

epochs=3

)

The loss function is:-

loss = tf.keras.losses.SparseCategoricalCrossentropy(from_logits=True)

The number of training steps is calculated like so:-

batch_size = 8

num_epochs = 3

num_train_steps = (len(encoded_train['input_ids']) // batch_size) * num_epochs

So far then, very much like the boiler-plate code in the course.

My encoded training data looks like this:-

{'input_ids': <tf.Tensor: shape=(1040, 512), dtype=int32, numpy=
array([[  101,   155,  1942, ...,     0,     0,     0],
       [  101, 27900,  7641, ...,     0,     0,     0],
       [  101,   155,  1942, ...,     0,     0,     0],
       [  101,   109,  7414, ...,     0,     0,     0],
       [  101,  2809,  1141, ...,     0,     0,     0],
       [  101,  1448,  1111, ...,     0,     0,     0]], 
dtype=int32)>, 'attention_mask': <tf.Tensor: shape=(1040, 512), dtype=int32, numpy=
array([[1, 1, 1, ..., 0, 0, 0],
       [1, 1, 1, ..., 0, 0, 0],
       [1, 1, 1, ..., 0, 0, 0],
       [1, 1, 1, ..., 0, 0, 0],
       [1, 1, 1, ..., 0, 0, 0],
       [1, 1, 1, ..., 0, 0, 0]], dtype=int32)>}

Printing with y_train.head() my labels look like this (though my code turns this into a numpy array):-

10     2
147    1
342    1
999    3
811    3
Name: sentiment, dtype: int64