Using a space as a backend?

Hi Spaces!

I am new to HF Spaces. Here is the project I’m imagining:

I’m working on an iOS app to take a hand drawn image, pass it through ControlNet, and get back a diffusion image to then print out. The goal would be to bring this to a group of kids to let them play with diffusion and get a print out of their own work enhanced by Diffusion.

I know how to run ControlNet in a Colab notebook. I am wondering what the simplest translation of this is to a HF Space. I don’t necessarily need a frontend for the experience - I think we will build that in iOS - so I don’t think a Streamlit or Gradio frontend makes sense. Really I just want a persistent server which can serve as an endpoint to ControlNet (effectively the code from a Python notebook) for an iOS app. I see the word Docker and I flinch (“is Docker tech overkill”) but is that the right way to interact with HF spaces if what I effectively want to do is turn a Colab notebook into a persistent endpoint I can call from say an iOS app?

Thoughts welcomed!!! Thank you!

hello @mpnagle,

Spaces are designed for demos and sharable ML apps. You might be interested in our Inference Endpoints solution which provides exactly what you’re looking for, a dedicated, fully managed inference server. You might need to convert your Jupiter notebook to a custom handler python code and with a few clicks you can deploy and have an API endpoint

Luckily @philschmid wrote a really comprehensive tutorial about deploying ControlNet as an inference endpoint, so you can just copy adapt his handler.py

You can also see multiple models templates on our hub.

1 Like

Hi @radames

Thank you! I think this is exactly what we’re looking for.

I will look further, but two quick questions:

1. I know HF provides grants for Spaces. Are there grants for endpoints? The end goal of this is an educational demo (exploring ControlNet with kids – draw a picture and pass it into ControlNet.) and if not –