Which model to use for suggesting article to the user based on details provided?

Hello Members,

I have a use case in which the user enters the details of the problem his computer is facing and the system will return the most relevant article from the list of articles that potentially might solve the issue.

I tried cosine similarity and BM25 but not getting decent results. Can someone please suggest which pre-trained model i can use for this kind of data and use-case.

Sorry I am new to transformers.

hey @gladmortal your use case sounds like a good match for dense retrieval, where you use a transformer like BERT to embed your documents as dense vectors and then measure their similarity to a query vector.

you can find an example on how to do this with FAISS and the datasets library here: Adding a FAISS or Elastic Search index to a Dataset — datasets 1.6.2 documentation

there is also a nice example from sentence-transformers here if your articles are not too long: Semantic Search — Sentence-Transformers documentation

alternatively, if you have a corpus of (question, article) tuples, you could try doing a similarity comparison of new questions against the existing ones and using the matches to return the most relevant article. there’s a tutorial of this from a nice library called haystack which is built on transformers here: https://haystack.deepset.ai/docs/latest/tutorial4md

1 Like

Thanks @lewtun , This is really helpful. :smile: Can you also help me understand how can i determine which model (BERT, roBERTa, distilBERT - Index of /reimers/sentence-transformers/v0.2/ ) is gonna work well in my use case, especially the embeddings where people are seeking information on hardware/software related concerns, Do i need to train my own embedding in the case ?

Hi @gladmortal
A good way it to look at models listed here:
https://www.sbert.net/docs/pretrained_models.html

There you find different categories of models with some performance results.