BERT model size (transformer block number)

Hi,

I have some general questions regarding BERT and distillation.

1. I want to compare the performance of BERT with different model size (transformer block number). Is it necessary to do distillation? If I just train a BERT with 6 Layers without distillation, does the performance look bad?

2. Do I have to do pre-train from scratch every time I change the layer number of BERT? Is it possible to just remove some layers in an existing pre-trained model and finetune on tasks?

3. Why BERT has 12 blocks? Not 11 or 13 etc. ? I couldn’t find any explanation.

Thanks,
ZLK

Hi, have you seen this https://github.com/google-research/bert

It describes and provides several smaller Bert models, including evaluations of their performance.

By the way, I am not an expert.

1. I think the results would be OK, but the 6-layer Bert would be slower to train and use than the 6-layer DistilBert

2. I expect it would be possible to just remove some layers and then finetune. After all, full training starts from randomly initialized weights, so I don’t suppose your cut-down model would be actually worse than that. On the other hand, I don’t know if it would be better. Certainly, if you do try it, you would want to cut off the last layers, not the first ones. If you look at deep Convolutional networks for image recognition, the first layers detect simple patterns, and the later layers build those simple patterns into more complicated ones.