Changing ClassLabels for NER

Hey there,

so I’ve been stuck the entire day and can not find anything to help me. Maybe I am blind, but I am also completely new to this (ML and Python that is)

Basically I have made a dataset that looks like this:

2ndBestKiller/DrugTest · Datasets at Hugging Face (this is exactly mine)

Now I wanted to do a NER Tutorial from the HF page, this one here:

For the most part, my dataset looks exactly like theirs, except for the ClassLabels in my ner_labels column. There should be references to the corresponding IOB entities, but alas there is nothing.

Here is what I am talking about:

ner_feature = raw_datasets[“train”].features[“ner_tags”]

when you print “ner_feature” is should look like this:

Sequence(feature=ClassLabel(num_classes=9, names=[‘O’, ‘B-PER’, ‘I-PER’, ‘B-ORG’, ‘I-ORG’, ‘B-LOC’, ‘I-LOC’, ‘B-MISC’, ‘I-MISC’], names_file=None, id=None), length=-1, id=None)

But mine looks like this:

Sequence(feature=Value(dtype=‘int64’, id=None), length=-1, id=None)

And I can not figure out how to set this up. Non of the tutorials or documentation seem to talk about this, but again, maybe I am just blind.

Can anyone help me (and please make it easy to understand since my knowledge in this area is very limited)

how did you upload the dataset? its missing the dataset_infos.json which will contain the feature definition etc.

If this file is available on your computer - upload that too, otherwise create it. Checkout the file for the dataset used in that example. The feature information you are looking for is part of the infos.json file which is missing in your repo.

Hey!

Thanks so much for your answer!

Thats interesting. So I actually figured out a different way. The thing is, I suspected something like a missing “config” file, since this kind of meta data cant be stored in a JSONL. But when I did it the way shown in this tutorial right here:

for split, dataset in drug_dataset_clean.items():