Handwriting recognition. Can't recognize multiline words

I expect the model trocr-base-handwritten to extract all the text from the picture.

But the result is got from it is sentiment.

Full code:

from transformers import TrOCRProcessor, VisionEncoderDecoderModel
from PIL import Image

p = 'picture.png'
processor = TrOCRProcessor.from_pretrained("trocr-base-handwritten/")
model = VisionEncoderDecoderModel.from_pretrained("trocr-base-handwritten/")
image = Image.open(p)
image_rgb = image.convert('RGB')
pixels = processor(image_rgb, return_tensors="pt").pixel_values
generated_ids = model.generate(pixels)
generated_text = processor.batch_decode(generated_ids, skip_special_tokens=True)

# generated_text output 
# ['sentiment']

How to configure, improve the model to get at least the similar phrase sense of humor?

Was thinking the exact same thing today, and posted a topic at: How to do full page analysis with TrOCR (integrating with text segmentation analysis)

I am a complete novice, but believe this is because the TrOCR model is based on single line input?

@nielsr mentioned we could use a separate text line segmentation program to then feed those line-by-line, or bounding box results into TrOCR. Don’t have a clue how to do that, and am hoping he or the other fine folks @huggingface forums might offer some helpful suggestions…

Hey, thx for sharing your concern.

i noticed that the oneline pictures are recognized quite good in comparison to the multiliners.
From the muultiliners i often get results like 1953 54 meaningless numbers.

Suggestion of a workaround would be great. Let’s wait for an answer.

@jhhf Have you considered other models, solutions for handwriting recognition by the way?

@kvdm-dev - yes, I’ve been looking at LayoutMLV2, LayoutML3 and Donut; but agree with you that the one-line transformers trained to a specific language seem to be quite good! @nielsr → any suggestions?

1 Like