How would you approach designing a model for this problem?

Hi. I’m a hobbyist who’s been playing around with the Hugging Face libraries for the last year or so. I’m still very much a beginner and haven’t taken a CS course since about 2002 or a math class in even longer, so my coding is kind of rusty. This question isn’t specifically about the libraries, but more about my overall approach to solving my problem. I’d appreciate any tips or pointers, especially if the process I outline below has any glaring flaws.

The top line is I’m trying to make a seq2seq model to translate English words into a phonetic representation, which will eventually be used for generative text projects that need to learn rhyme and rhythm.

Background
I don’t think there are any existing language models that work in that space, so I’m rolling my own. There are plenty of general English datasets out there in addition to my task-specific data, so all I need to do is preprocess it through a phonetic model and I’ll have tons of data I can work with.

For most of this time, I’ve been using the Pincelate library, which is pretty great. I could preprocess my text by splitting out each word, feeding each word to pincelate to get the phones, and then joining it all back together with the original white space and punctuation for the data to feed into the next phase of my projects. But Pincelate was built with an older version of Tensorflow and doesn’t seem to be getting any updates. It also has been giving me less-than-ideal results with longer words and other edge cases, and is relatively slow.

So I decided to try to make a phonetic model better suited to my projects using HF Transformers.

Data
The training data I have is the same that Pincelate used – the CMUDict pronunciation dictionary of ~130K English words. I don’t know of any other phonetic datasets out there, especially none with full sentences, so I’m sticking with the word-by-word approach I was using before.