Let’s say I download a model
That saves it in the cache and it won’t download it again in the future. If I then train it, the model changes, right? I can re-download it from scratch by deleting it from the cache, but is there an API way to do this?
In the future, I’ll download it and then use save_pretrained to save it to a different file and then train the one that I saved outside the cache.
You can clean your cache as explained here: Manage huggingface_hub cache-system.
Yes you can also pass
force_download=True to the
Can I ask you a question? When you said,
If I then train it, the model changes, right? what does this mean, sir? If I train the model, the cache of this model will change? Do you have a reference for me to read more?
If I train the model, the cache of this model will change?
Hi @Nevermetyou, no, training the model has no impact on the cached version of the model.
When you download a model, the cached version will be saved in a location specified by the
HF_HOME environment variable (you can read more here). By default, that location is
On the other hand, when your training finishes, the trained (modified) version of the model will be saved in a folder specified by the
output_dir argument given to the Huggingface trainer (you can see this arg here)
Thanks for your clarification.