Language-modeling script "killed" when fine-tuning gpt2-medium

Hello! I’m just getting started with the huggingface libraries for text-generation.

I cloned the transformers repo from github, and then I was able to successfully run fine-tuning on the GPT-2 small model, on my macbook, using this command…

python3 examples/language-modeling/run_language_modeling.py \
    --output_dir=/my/data/gpt2-small-finetune \
    --model_type=gpt2 \
    --model_name_or_path=gpt2 \
    --do_train \
    --train_data_file=/path/to/my_corpus_text.txt

For now, I’m using a very small corpus… with a total of around 150kb of text. The training process took about 30 minutes (which I assume was using the CPU rather than GPU). Once it finished running, I was able to successfully use the fine-tuned model to generate text, like this:

python3 examples/text-generation/run_generation.py \
    --model_type=gpt2 \
    --model_name_or_path=/my/data/gpt2-small-finetune \
    --length=100 \
    --prompt="Once upon a time, there was a "

Next, I tried running the same exact process, with the same training corpus, but with a new output directory and with model_name_or_path set to gpt2-medium

python3 examples/language-modeling/run_language_modeling.py \
    --output_dir=/my/data/gpt2-medium-finetune \
    --model_type=gpt2 \
    --model_name_or_path=gpt2-medium \
    --do_train \
    --train_data_file=/path/to/my_corpus_text.txt

The process starts up and emits some logs, which look normal…

09/13/2020 17:31:51 - WARNING - __main__ -   Process rank: -1, device: cpu, n_gpu: 0, distributed training: False, 16-bits training: False