Loss drops normally but stops improving quickly

I’m training a customized latent diffusion model, which replaces text embeddings with a custom embedding, and I’m finding that, while the loss drops in a fairly normal way for the first few hundred steps, it then levels off and only improves very slowly. The loss itself is also quite high compared to the standard stable diffusion training—i.e., levelling off at around 0.58 vs 0.1 for stable diffusion (in previous runs on my data, that is). In part this is because I’ve added a term to the loss function, but that shouldn’t account for quite so much difference.

One thing I’m wondering is whether perhaps the standard cross_attention_dim size of 768 is too small for my data? Does that make sense? Because I’ve never done this kind of “surgery” before (ha) I stuck with the original text-embedding size (77, 768), just to be as “compliant” as possible, and made my embedding fit that. But maybe it doesn’t offer enough parameters for the model to learn what I’m trying to learn?

I should clarify that I haven’t tested a checkpoint yet, to see whether it’s working as expected, so I don’t really know anything’s wrong. The loss just seems quite high to have stopped improving, compared to what I’m used to from standard stable diffusion training.

Any thoughts appreciated.

EDIT: I should clarify that the latent the unet is generating is the same shape as the standard model: (4, 64, 64).

1 Like