Pre-training with Lamb optimizer

Hello everyone,

Has anyone experimented with Lamb optimizers in HF? I tried using https://github.com/cybertronai/pytorch-lamb but I was only marginally able to increase batch size and the training loss curve was rather flat. If you’ve used lamb would you please share some tips. How did you initliaze it? I am not sure what to use in optimizer_grouped_parameters list of dictionaries that wrap model parameters. Also, I’ve seen some other people use a different lr scheduler with Lamb.

Thanks in advance.

Hi vblagoje,

I am new to transformer. I have been playing the hugging face model for several month and I think I am thinking to made a some small changes on the Bert Model and pretrain it from scratch. I saw you discussing on another post several days ago about the pretraining process. I was wondering if you know the pretraining repository made by Nvidia?

I think they implemented the lamb optimizer, NSP objective and wrote code to better utilized multiple gpu during distributed training. I still haven’t use it yet because I have some trouble with installing docker on the remote machine I am working on. I was just wondering if you already seen this repository or tried it, or if you have any advice on pretraining bert from scratch?

Hey @zeyuyun1,

Yes, I am aware of the NVidia repo, however, I haven’t used their scripts. I would like to use the HF library to train BERT from scratch using HF Trainer class, HF datasets project, and helper classes like DataCollatorForNextSentencePrediction. NVidia scripts are excellent but noisy, with lots of engineering details explicitly mixed with the BERT specifics. These engineering details should be hidden; using the above classes and projects is a step in the right direction to minimize the engineering details.