Question answering evaluation strategy

Hi there, I’m a beginner at Hugging Face(and ML field in general), took up on a challenge to learn it and I’m focusing on question answering models for now.

Now, the training part has been straightforward so far; I take my dataset, tokenize it via map function, embedding start and end positions of the correct answer in the process, so my model can compute the loss which I can use for backwards propagation, done.

But I am confused when it comes to evaluation; I don’t need to compute start and end positions, I just need 3 things for my model: input_ids, token_type_ids and attention_mask, all of which I get by simply passing my inputs to the tokenizer.
Now, when I looked up a metric to evaluate, I encountered this one: SQuAD v2 - a Hugging Face Space by evaluate-metric

I followed the instructions; they’re clear I need the specified formats for my references, check, I’ve done it all in my tokenization function:

def tokenize_question_answering_validation(element):
  question = [q.strip() for q in element["question"]]
  inputs = tokenizer(
    question, 
    element["context"], 
    max_length=None,  # automatically determined by the model
    truncation="only_second", 
    return_overflowing_tokens=True,
    return_offsets_mapping=True, 
    stride=128, 
    padding="max_length"
  )

inputs["additional_params"] = [] # this is the "references"
  overflow_to_sample_mapping = inputs.pop("overflow_to_sample_mapping")
  for index, value in enumerate(overflow_to_sample_mapping):
# since I can have multiple features for 1 sample
#(due to context being greater than my model supports), 
#I have to use overflow mappings
    inputs["additional_params"].append({
        "answers" : {
            "answer_start": element["start_positions"][value], "text": element["text"][value] 
        },
        "id":element["id"][value]
    }) 
# this is the "references" format I found on the link, 
#I append them into my input and return them with them,