Questions when doing Transformer-XL Finetune with Trainer

Hi everyone,

Nice to see you here. :blush:

I’m new to the Transformer-XL model. :pleading_face: I’m following Fine-tuning with custom datasets to finetune Transformer-XL with Trainer.(sequence classification task)

First, I used exactly the same way as the instruction above except for:

tokenizer = TransfoXLTokenizer.from_pretrained(‘transfo-xl-wt103’)
model = TransfoXLForSequenceClassification.from_pretrained(“transfo-xl-wt103”)

By doing this, I got ‘RuntimeError: stack expects each tensor to be equal size, but got [25] at entry 0 and [24] at entry 1.’ I think the reason for the error is that I should pad the sequences in the same batch to the same length. Let me know, if I’m wrong. Probably, I need a data_collator to solve this problem. Is there a build-in data_collator in huggingface to solve this problem? If not, is there an example about how to overwrite the data_collator?

Second, I changed the code to:

tokenizer = TransfoXLTokenizer.from_pretrained(‘transfo-xl-wt103’)
model = TransfoXLForSequenceClassification.from_pretrained(“transfo-xl-wt103”)

train_texts = [train_text[:120] for train_text in train_texts]
val_texts = [val_text[:120] for val_text in val_texts]
test_texts = [test_text[:120] for test_text in test_texts]

tokenizer.pad_token = tokenizer.eos_token

train_encodings = tokenizer(train_texts, padding=True, max_length=‘120’)
val_encodings = tokenizer(val_texts, padding=True, max_length=‘120’)
test_encodings = tokenizer(test_texts, padding=True, max_length=‘120’)

multilabel_trainer = Trainer(
model=model, # the instantiated :hugs: Transformers model to be trained
tokenizer=tokenizer,
args=training_args, # training arguments, defined above
train_dataset=train_dataset, # training dataset
eval_dataset=val_dataset # evaluation dataset
)