[Solved] Issue on translating DPR to TFDPR on loading pytorch weights to TF model

Hi Huggingface team,

I would love to contribute translating DPR to TFDPR model .
This is my first time trying to contribute so please bear with me for my simple question.

I have followed @sshleifer 's great PR on TFBart model on 4 files : __init__.py , convert_pytorch_checkpoint_to_tf2.py , utils/dummy_tf_objects.py and (newly created) modeling_tf_dpr.py

Now the TF code can run properly with examples in Pytorch’s DPR (correct input/output tensors) . However, it seems the method .from_pretrained(..., from_pt=True) does not work properly as there are always warning messages that weights could not be loaded :

Some weights of the PyTorch model were not used when initializing the TF 2.0 model TFDPRContextEncoder: ['ctx_encoder.bert_model.encoder.layer.7.intermediate.dense.bias', 'ctx_encoder.bert_model.encoder.layer.7.attention.output.dense.weight', ... (long list of every variable)]

I have a colab code for the modified 4 mentioned files here : https://colab.research.google.com/drive/1lU4fx7zkr-Y3CXa3wmHIY8yJhKdiN3DI?usp=sharing
(It would be great if Sam or Patrick @patrickvonplaten can take a quick look, as this may be an easy fix)
(to easily navigate the change, please “find on page” for e.g. TFDPRContextEncoder )

try passing for example, name=‘ctx_encoder’, as a kwarg to more components (like you do for layers) and calling

super().__init__(config, **kwargs)

inside of them.

Like this:

That’s how I debugged some tensorflow layer name issues (like the one you have),
but I’m no expert.

1 Like

@sshleifer Thanks for the insights!!
I am now able to clear up most of the naming mismatches.
The last issue is that DPREncoder has a variable from BertModel class.
(which I already solved but seeking confirmation, see below)

And there is one important different implementation between
Pytorch’s BertModel vs. TFBertModel