Spanish ASR: Fine-Tuning Wav2Vec2

Hello,

I’m planning to fine-tune XLSR-Wav2Vec2 for Spanish, following the notebooks and methodology shared by @patrickvonplaten. See for example the Turkish one.

I’m just getting started and still getting a feel for the data I downloaded from Common Voice. I’ve seen sentences referring to words in other languages, for example:

"hay pues dos pronunciaciones posibles para 日本 nihon o nippon"
"más adelante los kanjis cambiaron a 蝦夷"

This increases the vocab substantially (230 characters after basic punctuation removal), and probably adds a lot of noise. Is this a scenario that occurs in other Common Voice datasets?

I’m currently considering the exclusion of these samples, but I haven’t yet measured how many of them there are in the dataset.

3 Likes

Hey @pcuenq,

Very good question & It’s great that you already took a look at the dataset. I think you have the following three options here:

1. Remove all characters which clearly don’t belong to the Spanish languages from both the training and the test data.

2. Don’t remove those characters from the training and test dataset, but remove them from the vocabulary. In this scenario make sure to add the "[UNK]" token to the vocab and define it as unk_token="[UNK]" when instantiating the tokenizer. This way the model will simply learn to classify all such tokens to [UNK], but you don’t have to significantly change the training data.

3. Just add all such tokens to the vocab.

Obviously all methods have their advantages and disadvantages. I would tend to either option 2) or 1) with option 2) probably being my preferred option.