Validation VS Test with Transformers Trainer

Hi, newbie here, I’m fine-tuning Roberta-base with the code I’ve attached below and have some questions:

1. Have I understood it correctly that the training process used here will contaminate dataset used for evaluation? Or could the validation data here be considered test-data, and I could simply do an 80/20 split? I’ve read I need to use a validation set when doing hyperparameter tuning, is such tuning done behind the scene (when calculating loss?)
  2. When I run trainer.evaluate, will it automatically use the evaluation dataset? For final testing, should I specify the last part of the dataset, in this case, split='train[90%:]

A lot of tutorials called the evaluation dataset “test-data”, which made me a bit confused. Few tutorials also go through the process of first validating, then testing.

train_data = datasets.load_dataset('csv', data_files = 'datasets/all_shuffled.csv', split='train[:80%]')
vali_data = datasets.load_dataset('csv', data_files = 'datasets/all_shuffled.csv', split='train[80%:90%]')

training_args = TrainingArguments(
    output_dir = 'roberta',
    num_train_epochs=4,
    per_device_train_batch_size = 4,
    gradient_accumulation_steps = 16,    
    per_device_eval_batch_size= 8,
    evaluation_strategy = 'no',
    save_strategy = 'no',
    disable_tqdm = False, 
    load_best_model_at_end=True,
    warmup_steps=500,
    weight_decay=0.01,
    logging_steps = 8,
    fp16 = False,
    logging_dir='roberta/logs',
    dataloader_num_workers = 8,
    run_name = 'roberta-classification'
)

trainer = Trainer(
    model=model,
    args=training_args,
    compute_metrics=compute_metrics,
    train_dataset=train_data,
    eval_dataset=vali_data
)

trainer.train()
trainer.evaluate()
1 Like

Hello,