Catalan NLP - Introduction

Oh, benvinguts, passeu passeu :musical_note: :musical_note:

This is the introduction thread for Catalan NLP enthusiasts. Albeit a “small” language, it has a strong internet presence, such as Viquipèdia and even some HF models! So let’s keep the wheel turning.

To get started, please introduce yourself with any of the following:

• Your name, Github, Hugging Face, and/or Twitter handle
  • Some projects you are working on or interested in starting
  • Any potential directions you have in mind for the Hugging Face Italian community
  • Anything else you’d like to share!

My name is Pere-Lluís (@PereLluis13 | Github | Twitter), I come from Reus, hometown of Gaudí, the guy who built all the cool stuff in Barcelona but nothing in my hometown, however we still have the best vermouth.

I am currently doing a PhD at Babelscape and la Sapienza, in Rome. My work leverages NLP with Knowledge Graph related tasks such as Relation and Entity extraction, with a particular focus on Multilinguality. I also got a couple of publications during my MSc that used Huggingface, you can check them in Scholar.

I think Transformers are a given in any NLP research nowadays, and that includes Huggingface, so I am constantly using the library in my research. I am particularly interested in autoregressive models as well as interpretability.

Una abraçada :hugs:

3 Likes

Hi everybody,

My name is Albert Villanova del Moral (@albertvillanova , GitHub, Twitter), and I am from Alcoi (València, Spain), currently living in Paris (France).

I am a Data Scientist, and I collaborate with Hugging Face. My background is in Theoretical Particle Physics (PhD) and Computer Science (BSc).

In a broad sense, my main interests in NLP revolve around the development of Open Source language technologies (datasets and models) created collaboratively by and for the community, with a special emphasis on diversity, bias and underrepresented languages.