Create an Assistant to be used via Python scripts

Hey there, I’m new to the community.

So far, I played around with HuggingChat and created an Assistant for a specific use case.

I want to be able to create such an Assistant to be available via API calls. So basically:

• Choose a model (my preference atm is “CohereForAI/c4ai-command-r-plus-08-2024”)
  • Give it initial instructions
  • Publish it

And then, probably via the “transformers” library I want to be able to write messages to that model.

I’m happy to pay for the Pro subscription if that’s necessary. Can you please give me some pointers on how to achieve this?

Never mind, I just found out about Spaces which seems the way to go. Experimenting!

Although it is relatively unprofessional (I’m not an expert on anything to begin with), I think it is this function that is closest to your use case.
Any well-known model on HF can be called with a reasonable probability. I heard that even with a free account you can do 300 requests per hour.
There are some large models you can only call with a Pro subscription.
Without an account, I heard it’s 1 request per hour…

This is an example of actual use and a sample of a usable LLM. The models used in this space are available candidates.

It is also a good idea to get code from an app with a similar use case that someone else has created, rather than building it from scratch.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for your detailed answer!

I tried to create a space and added this to app.py:

import gradio as gr
from transformers import AutoModelForCausalLM, AutoTokenizer

model_name = "CohereForAI/c4ai-command-r-plus-08-2024"
tokenizer = AutoTokenizer.from_pretrained(model_name)
model = AutoModelForCausalLM.from_pretrained(model_name)

def generate_response(prompt):
    inputs = tokenizer(prompt, return_tensors="pt")
    outputs = model.generate(**inputs, max_new_tokens=100)
    return tokenizer.decode(outputs[0], skip_special_tokens=True)